SHIRP Resource This interactive anatomy study tool provides health and medical professionals access to three-dimensional interactive models of the human anatomy. This tool also contains clinical and case studies, pronunciation guides, MRIs, dissection slides, videos, animations and quizzes. This study tool seems to work best in Chrome and Microsoft Edge.
University of Washington Structural Informatics Group's interactive atlas containing graphical and symbolic representations of human anatomy. Includes 2-D and 3-D images.
The National lnstitute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases Image Library is a searchable database of original full-color and black-and-white illustrations produced by the NIDDK Information Clearinghouses that are available copyright free to the public at no cost. The Library makes available anatomical and medical, instructional, and lifestyle and activity illustrations presented in high, medium, and low resolutions.
HEAL, housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library, contains over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. Specific collections in HEAL include neuroscience, hematology, histology, and dermatology, among other subjects.
Open Access Biomedical Images search engine. Access images in the National Library of Medicine's PMC (formerly PubMed Central) – an open archive of free full-text biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Genome images from the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science. Images can be searched or browsed through categories such as Biofuels, Carbon Cycling, Systems Biology, Basic Genome, and more.
Over 600 historical and health-related advertisements printed in newspapers and magazines from 1910-1959. Categories include cigarettes, vitamins and tonics, diet, and more. From Duke University Libraries digital collections.
New York Public Library Digital Collections presents hundreds of images from the thirteenth through the early twentieth century. Fields include: astronomy; chemistry; geology; mathematics; medicine; and physics. Formats include: manuscript illuminations; engravings; lithographs; and photographs.
From the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s History of Medicine Division, this collection contains over 70,000 pictorial items on the social and historical aspects of medicine ranging from the Middle Ages to the present. While many of the items are protected under copyright, there are a number available in the public domain.
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, still images, videos, and maps. All of the content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich resources.
A peer-reviewed digital media center for microbiology educators. Includes Image Gallery, Laboratory Protocols, Curriculum Archive, and Visual Media Briefs. All collections feature free, original, open-access content submitted and peer-reviewed by members of the microbiology educator community. The mission of the Resource Library is to promote good pedagogy in microbiology, foster scholarly teaching, and enhance understanding about the microbial world.
Over 2,000 photos, diagrams, and drawings that can be used to help communicate meaning, describe concepts, and tell stories of biomedical, science, and patient-care topics. Most of the images are in the public domain.
Gross and microscopic images of pathology specimens taken by Ed Uthman, a practicing pathologist in Houston, TX. Contains over 930 images, all licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) license.
SHIRP Resource This interactive anatomy study tool provides health and medical professionals access to three-dimensional interactive models of the human anatomy. This tool also contains clinical and case studies, pronunciation guides, MRIs, dissection slides, videos, animations and quizzes. This study tool seems to work best in Chrome and Microsoft Edge.
Exploring Essential Radiology helps medical students and residents develop their imaging interpretation skills in various modalities as well as various anatomical regions.
3D-animation enhanced surgical video atlas for hepato-pancreato-biliary, transplant, gynaecology, and obstetrics.
Saskatchewan Health Authority Guidance
Look & Feel
Follow SHA visual identity standards for all public, staff and patient information and training materials
Look, feel and tone related to design, language and layout should be professional
Comical/satirical/cartoon-like clip art and other comical/unapproved narrative images and videos are strictly prohibited
Photos should be of good quality and follow proper publishing resolution guidelines
Copyright
All photography or infographic elements must be appropriately licensed
Use of images and videos found on the Internet, including free stock imagery, must follow copyright law and license requirements
Unauthorized use of imagery is strictly prohibited
Privacy & Permissions
Employees and physicians will use acceptable images that are the property of the Saskatchewan Health Authority on any promotional materials created including posters, brochures, newsletters and any other documentation that will be distributed
Acceptable images include:
Photographs with signed consent forms from the individual(s) in the photos, in accordance with the Health Information Protection Act (HIPA), including photos provided from an individual or other organization
Property of Saskatchewan Health Authority means:
Photos taken by staff and/or provided by staff with authorized consent forms signed for any individuals who appear in the photos
Images that have been purchased for use by the SHA
For further questions or clarification on appropriate use of graphical elements, video or photography, along with access to the proper consent form, please contact your local Communications area.
