Skip to main content

Tabbed Search Box

 
Loading ...

Database Search Tips

AND
Use AND to search for different concepts. This tells the database to retrieve ALL of your search terms and will narrow your results.
e.g. lung AND cancer

OR
Use OR to search for similar concepts. This tells the database to retrieve ANY of your search terms and will broaden your results.
e.g. lung OR pulmonary

(Parentheses)
Use parenthesis to organize your search when you want to combine more than one concept. Put parentheses around similar concepts using OR, then connect them using AND.
e.g. (lung OR pulmonary) AND (cancer OR neoplasms)

Truncation
Truncation broadens your search to include various word endings and spellings. Truncation symbols may vary by database. If in doubt, check the search tips or help feature. Common symbols include: *, !, ?, or #
e.g. genetic* = genetic, genetics, genetically

Wildcards
Similar to truncation, wildcards substitute a symbol for one letter of a word. This is useful for words spelled in different ways.
e.g.  p?ediatric = paediatric, pediatric

"Phrase Searching"
Most databases allow you to specify that words be searched as a phrase. Using quotes around search words is a common way to do phrase searching. 
e.g. "borderline personality disorder"

Still not finding what you need? Contact us!

Health Canada Food & Nutrition News

Loading ...

Dietitian Handbook

The latest edition of the Dietitian Handbook is now available:

  • 200 pages of practical information
  • 90 tables including the dietary reference intakes and estimating energy requirements
  • Bestseller with dietetic interns, dietitians and professors
  • The "ultimate handbook with the most important information for clinical dietitians in one place”

Questions about the handbook? Phone 306-766-8637 or email.

Get a copy from the library:
Borrow a copy
Purchase a copy for your department

Buy your own copy:
$75.00 Paperback (print)
$65.00 iBook (for Apple devices)
$65.00 eBook (PDF or EPUB)

Your Friendly Librarian

Lance Fox's picture
Lance Fox
Contact:
Regina General Hospital
306-766-4148 MF
Wascana Rehabilitation Centre, Regina
306-766-5441 TWTh