This point-of-care tool provides access to peer-reviewed evidence summaries, drug information, medical calculators and CME. Subject coverage includes more than 3200 topics pertaining to broad range of diseases, conditions, syndromes, treatments, drugs and more. Content is updated on a regular basis.
This database provides full-text access to a collection of clinical resources and decision support tools on drug and diseases. Content includes information on drug identification and interaction, drug dosing calculators, AHFS content, patient education materials, medical calculators, guidelines, lab and diagnostic procedures and other clinical support tools. Content is updated on a regular basis.
This database provides access to more than 24 million records from more 5,500 journals from around the world. Subject coverage includes biomedicine, life sciences, behavioural sciences, chemical sciences, bioengineering, allied-health as well as humanities and information sciences as they relate to health care and medicine. Coverage spans from the 1800’s to the present day. Content is updated and new titles are added on a regular basis.
This knowledge translation tool maintained by the Dietitians of Canada, British Dietetic Association and Dietitians Australia provides access to evidence-based guidance and answers to clinical questions pertaining to nutritional practice. Resources include knowledge pathways, patient handouts, practice guidance toolkits, calculations, guidelines, and more. Content is updated on an irregular basis.
This evidence- and Canadian-based resource decision-support-tool provides access to resources used to assist in prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point-of-care. Content includes the Compendium of Pharmaceuticals & Specialties (e-CPS) and Compendium of Therapeutic Choices (CTC) with thousands of Health Canada-approved drug monographs, Health Canada advisories and warnings, printable patient information, clinical tools, and customizable drug comparison tables. Content is updated as new evidence emerges.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
This database provides access to the CSA Standards available through the Saskatchewan Health Authority with the exception of the ORNAC Standards. Contact us if you need them. Users can also search these standards using a simple interface. Subject coverage includes Health Care and Medical Devices, Occupational Health and Safety, Public and Community Safety and more. Content is updated on a regular basis.
Note: Content can only be accessed via paid subscription. Contact the Library to join the SHA subscription.
This online platform for speech-language pathologists and therapists enables users to create customized learning and communication materials and games for learners with special needs. Content includes customized materials such as Bingo, playing and picture cards, colouring sheets, dominoes and more. Users are also provided access to a clip art library containing thousands of pictures and symbols.
Note: The form now requires the manager to complete the registration for their staff who are required to administer the MoCA tool. Note: Managers need the employee’s SHA email and employee number. If a physician works in your unit, you will need their CPSS number.
The MoCA (Montreal Cognitive Assessment) Test is a Cognitive screening tool used by many disciplines. MoCA now requires individuals to register for training on the use of this tool. To coordinate registration, an employee’s manager must complete the form for SHA staff who are currently required to administer the MoCA tool as part of their assigned duties in cognitive assessment. Registration is required to complete the training for your assessments to be officially recognized. MoCA now charges a fee. The SHA negotiated a discounted rate for each training session and manager approval is required. Please register through the SHA Library by filling out this form to request access for the training and certification through the SHA license. Please do not register individually and then expense the cost for reimbursement.
A point-of-care tool that helps pediatric emergency medicine practitioners pinpoint diagnoses, treat diseases and medical conditions, detect harmful drug interactions and allergy sensitivities, and accurately dose patients. Includes: Emergency Medicine Sections; Procedures; Pharmacology; Medical Calculators; Pill Identification; Illustrations; and Lab Manual.