Skip to Main Content

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

  Format Example
Online dictionary or encyclopedia entries

#. Author AA, Author BB. Title of entry. In: Editor AA, Editor BB, ed(s). Title of Dictionary/Encyclopedia. Edition (as "# ed."). Publisher; Publication Year:page-range (no space between colon and page range, eg. 2022:56-85.) -or- chapter #. Accessed Month DD, YYYY. URL/link to ebook source.

AMA Guide section 3.12.11

1. Potenza D. Active life expectancy. In: Alter D, ed. The Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric Health and Social Care. 4th ed. Springer; 2018:245-247. Accessed October 1 2022. https://dictionaryentry.ca
Entire dictionaries or encyclopedias

#. Editor AA, Editor BB, ed(s). Title of Dictionary or Encyclopedia. Edition (as "# ed."). Publisher; Publication Year. Accessed Month DD, YYYY. URL/link if applicable.

AMA Guide section 3.12.2

1. O'Toole MT, ed. Mosby's Medical Dictionary. 9th ed. Elsevier/Mosby; 2013.

2. Capezuti L, Malone ML, Gardner DS, Khan A, Baumann SL, eds. The Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric Health and Social Care. Credo Reference; 2018.
Dictionary or encyclopedia entries in print

#. Entry title. In: Editor AA, Editor BB, ed(s). Title of Dictionary or Encyclopedia. Edition (as "# ed."). Publisher; Publication Year.

1. Peripheral venous catheter. In: O'Toole MT, ed. Mosby's Medical Dictionary. 9th ed. Elsevier/Mosby; 2013.

2. Caregiver support groups. In: Capezuti L, Malone ML, Gardner DS, Khan A, Baumann SL, eds. The Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric Health and Social Care. Credo Reference; 2018.

Note: The preferred source for definitions in the SHA is The Canadian Oxford Dictionary (2 ed).

General Rules

  • How to format in-text citations in your document.
  • Author/editor names: Last name + First name initial + Middle name initial (if available). e.g., Armand Peter Smith = Smith AP.
  • The names of all authors and editors should be given unless there are more than 6 (7 or more), in which case the names of the first 3 authors are used, followed by “et al”). e.g., Smith TP, Brown A, McLane E, et al.
  • No authors, organization, or editors listed? Contact library@saskhealthauthority.ca to ask a librarian.
  • Titles: Follow examples when using upper- and lowercase initials and italics. Do not use quotation marks for titles (e.g., "Title").
  • Subtitles: Use the colon (i.e., : ) to separate the title from the subtitle. e.g., Rural Healthcare: A Definitive Guide.
  • Dates: Spell out the full month name for 'Accessed' date. e.g., June, not Jun or 06. 
  • Proper nouns: Always capitalize the first initial of country/city, person, clinical tool, organization, and/or association names.