Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

	Format	Example
Dictionary or encyclopedia entry online	#. Author AA, Author BB -or- Editor AA, Editor BB, editor(s). Title of dictionary/encyclopedia [Internet]. Edition. Place of publication: Publisher; Year of publication. Title of entry; [cited YYYY MON DD]; [# of pages, paragraphs, webpages]. Available from: http://Website URL NLM Citing Medicine chapter 22, section B, 2	1. Potenza D. The encyclopedia of elder care: the comprehensive resource on geriatric health and social care [Internet]. 4th ed. New York: Springer Publishing Company; 2018. Active life expectancy; [cited 2020 Oct 1]; [about 3 pages]. Available from: https://dictionaryentry.ca
Entire dictionary or encyclopedia in print	#. Author AA. Dictionary/Encyclopedia title. Edition. Place of publication: Publisher; Year of publication. NLM Citing Medicine chapter 2	1. O'Toole MT. Mosby's medical dictionary. 9th ed. St. Louis: Elsevier/Mosby; 2013.
Dictionary or encyclopedia entry in print	#. Author AA, Author BB -or- Editor AA, Editor BB, editor(s) (if author unavailable). Encyclopedia title. Place of publication: Publisher; Year of publication. Title of article; page number or range. NLM Citing Medicine chapter 2, section C	1. Cassell DK, Sanoski CA. The encyclopedia of pharmaceutical drugs. New York: Facts on File; 2012. Corticosteroids; p. 271-6.

Note: The preferred source for definitions in the SHA is The Canadian Oxford Dictionary (2 ed).

General Rules

How to format in-text citations in your document.
Author/editor names: Last name + First name initial + Middle name initial (if available). e.g., Armand Peter Smith = Smith AP.
The names of all authors and editors should be given. See Reference List General Rules for the use of "et al."
No authors, organization, or editors listed? Contact library@saskhealthauthority.ca to ask a librarian.
Titles: Capitalize only the first word of a title, proper nouns, proper adjectives, acronyms, and initialisms. Do not use quotation marks or italics for titles.
Subtitles: Use the colon (i.e., : ) to separate the title from the subtitle. e.g., Rural healthcare: a definitive guide.
Dates: Whenever possible use the date format [YYYY Mon DD].
Proper nouns: Always capitalize the first initial of country/city, person, clinical tool, organization, and/or association names.